Whoo-Hoo!

Yay – I won!  My wreath was voted Charity Fan Favorite at the Carroll Arts Council Festival of Wreaths.  And while this accomplishment makes me feel some pride, the truth is I am even more excited that I will be able to send Room To Read a check for $250.  So thanks to those of you who voted for my piece 🙂 and thank you to the Carroll Arts Council for sponsoring such a wonderful event!

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Visit My Website
www.TheTellTaleArtist.com
Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 191 other subscribers