Busy Busy Busy!!!

I’ve been so busy at my new job that I’ve had very little time to dedicate to sewing.  However, I recently attempted something new at the request of a colleague.  She saw a piece I did and immediately commissioned me to make a gift for her daughter.  She wanted me to recreate this picture of her adorable granddaughter dressed up for her first Halloween.

EPSON MFP image
CUTIE!

What a great subject, but I had always done famous people — could I tackle a subject matter that was so close to someone’s heart?

First I decided to change the background and make her look as if she were walking among the flowers.  Then I changed the positioning of her hands and removed the smart phone that was in her left hand 🙂 and had her hold a flower.

This is the result….

fullsize piece

Here’s a close up of her cute little face….

close up

Sharon says she loves it — but who couldn’t love that face?!

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Art Quilts, Halloween, Sewing
4 comments on “Busy Busy Busy!!!
  1. Lisa Duff says:

    what a tremendous gift, in so many ways! i love it too.

  2. Betty Harris says:

    Oh;, Mary! You do such beautiful work! You have captured that beautiful little face perfectly. Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year to you and your family. =o)

  3. Karen says:

    very cool. Adorable face and you did great job of capturing it! 🙂

  4. Jujdith Joyce says:

    I always check your sight, and am thrilled to see a new work. know you love your new job, but your heart is in creative expression.

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

