Cabin Fever Art Show

I have taken my kids to Piney Run Park for years.  There we’ve hiked, gone fishing, picnicked and rowed boats.  This past weekend the nature center at the park hosted a Cabin Fever Art Show.  art for saleI signed up to be considered for the show (it was a juried sort of event) and was accepted.  It was only after I was committed to attending that I was sent a flyer which advertised an “art show for artists inspired by nature”.  In recent months most of my pieces have been centered around portraits — I had some work ahead of me!chicken quilt

I ended up creating three new pieces for the show.  One was from a photo my neighbor took of her chicken, Booboo.  When I incorrectly identified it as SunnyJay on Instagram, she was able to quickly correct me (which made me proud that I had so accurately captured her bird!) The success of this particular quilt had a lot to do with the talent my neighbor has in her photographs.  The vibrancy of the feathers just lent itself to my medium.  I spent a few excited hours stitching in the details of those feathers with a variation of colored threads.

close up of chicken quilt

The next quilt was of a photo I had taken of a sunflower on our property.  I plant sunflowers every year, and every year I end up taking dozens of photographs of them.  I can’t seem to get enough.  This was a close up of a particularly tall one.sunflower quilt full size

And finally I wanted to pay homage to the family of red-tailed hawks that lives in our sycamore trees.  They have nested there since 2009 and I love to listen to their high pitched calls and watch their shadows as they glide over our land.  The mascot at my college was the red-tailed hawk, so I guess that also lends to my affinity for them.

 

I had a great deal of fun creating the right shading on the back feathers of this hawk with varying colors of thread.  In the photographs I have taken, it looks as if the tail is in 3D, but it is actually flush with the rest of thehawk full sized quilt 2 quilt.  This was one of my favorite quilts and I unfortunately did not have it long enough to get a proper photograph taken — it sold to a very nice fellow quilter, whose husband loves the red-tailed hawk that lives on their property.  🙂

 

hawk full sized

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Sewing
13 comments on “Cabin Fever Art Show
  1. Betty Harris says:

    Your work continues to amaze me! Your ability to bring your subject to life using fabric and thread is wonderful.

  2. Thanks, Lisa — Love to you, too!

  3. Karen says:

    Beautiful– I especially love the red tailed hawk! Awesome! 🙂

  4. Suzanne says:

    Great work cousin Mary! xo, Suzie

  5. Mom says:

    Just found your newest work. How beautiful you caught the chicken, hawk and sunflower. You are amazing!

  6. Melissa says:

    Wow, Mary, keep doing what you are doing! That red tailed hawk is incredible! I like the chicken and sunflower as well. This art of yours is clearly a labor of love. Good for you that you found it and you continue to challenge yourself. Thank you for sharing! And thank Terry for posting on FB. 🙂

  7. Misy says:

    A few months beyond the exhibition. That red-tailed hawk is utterly captivating!! I wish I shared your talent. Maiden Auntie

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

