Creativity

I’ve always encouraged my kids to be creative.  They come from a long line of talented people (and not just me! 😉 ) Their grandma, my mother-in-law, is one of the most talented peoplAnne's Boxe I have ever met. I’ve menAnne's handiworktioned her in a previous post but thought I’d share some of her work here.  This is a wooden box she made for my husband.  The detail in the piece is just breathtaking. Another year she asked Terry for a picture of our house.  He sent her a photo that she manually drew grids on, and from that she created this for me: a cross stitched completely accurate depiction of my home.  I can do work similar to this, but with a computer and in fabric.  She eyeballed this and it came out beautifully.

So my kids come from a talented line.  Tom was one of 15 sophomores selected in the state of Maryland for the All State chorus.  He can play almost any brass instrument and has been in our hmore forced famliy funigh school’s award winning jazz band since his freshman year.  Elizabeth has a real eye for art.  She sews like her mom, but paints like her grandma.  She loves experimenting with new medium and has 2 craft closets full of materials.  My oldest, Eddie, never thinks of himself as creative, but he’s the one I’m writing about today.

When I went back to work this summer I was very concerned that the kids not spend all their free time sitting in front of one screen or another. To ease my mind, Eddie took over the care of Elizabeth.  They went on day trips, saw some movies and made jewelry together.  Elizabeth has been doing this for years, but it was new to Eddie.  He’s always liked intricate work (painting small models, building complicated Lego structures) so this was no stretch for him.  However, he soon discovered he had a real affinity for it.  beading

Before college resumed this semester, Ed spent a good deal of time beading while watching Netflix marathons.  His work is really well done.  He has begun to experiment with metals and is looking into taking a metal work class while in college to satisfy his art requirement.  For my part, I opened up an Etsy store for him and encourage you to visit it.  Since his earrings are not too expensive, I decided to show only one of the kinds he has made in the variety of colors that he chose (Etsy charges by the piece for displaying work and this would keep his costs down).  However I think I’m going to be a proud mama now and share some photos of his other work here.

earrings 2 braceletsearrings 1

 

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in jewelry, Not Sewing
3 comments on “Creativity
  1. Terry says:

    Yeah, they don’t get it from me. I can’t draw a straight line with a ruler. However, I’m an excellent judge of talent. And you’re all wicked talented!

  2. Lisa Duff says:

    Eddie’s work is lovely. they are feminine, but there’s something of a masculine touch to them. all of you guys have such a way of embracing and appreciating the strong and soft at the same time.

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

