What I’ve Been Up To Lately

I’ve been so busy with work and the holidays that I have not had any time to post about my sewing.  Tonight I decided to take a minute to share two house pieces I was commissioned to do for Christmas presents.  One was for a lady who found me on my Etsy site, and another was of a local home.  The first is a vacation home favorited by my client’s parents.  She asked that I include some words that she associated with the home in the sky surrounding it.

full quilt

There was a lot of detail, (which of course translates to fun!) in this piece.  I especially liked the flower beds that surround the home.

I just found on my Esty link that my client also left me a review.  It was so sweet I thought I’d include it here.

house detail 3I ordered a custom piece of a family beach house. I don’t even know where to start with my review! Working with Mary and corroborating on this custom piece was a wonderful experience. Mary took all of my thoughts, ideas and requests into consideration and created the most beautiful piece of art my family will treasure for ever. I hope she posts pictures of this piece on her storefront so that you can appreciate the workmanship that went into creating it. Amazing artist and I’m so glad that internet/etsy surfing led me to her!

 

view with fenceThe second piece was of a local home.  I enjoyed taking the photos myself and finding that one perfect angle that spoke to me.  I settled on a view from the fence line with the trees surrounding the house.  When I began to tackle this quilt I considered at first removing the trees from the portrait so I could focus solely on the house.  I quickly reconsidered as the owners probably loved their tree surrounded home and I didn’t want to remove its character.  What got me excited about leaving them in was the fabric I could then use.  About a year ago I purchased fabric that looked like vegetables — tomatoes, corn, lettuce, peppers.  I don’t know what I thought I’d do with it, but it was too cool to pass up.  As I looked at all the colors in the leaves of the trees I began to see that veggie fabric — broccoli, asparagus, red and iceberg lettuce.  I really love the final piece because I can easily pick out all those vegetables … I wonder if you can too.

I should apologize for the quality of this photo — I was so anxious to get it to my client on time that I took this picture through the glass of the frame with my phone. 🙂  You can’t see all the details like the curtains behind the pained windows, or the exact vegetable prints that I used.  But I think it’s a nice picture of the piece anyway.

full house

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Art Quilts
2 comments on “What I’ve Been Up To Lately
  1. Lisa Duff says:

    oh wow, mary. much deserved words of praise. by the way, we have more people coming through our office- people love the sunflowers and are truly amazed by your work.

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

