Another Challenge

living roomA few weeks ago my sister-in-law (a great supporter of my work, as well as a fellow admirer of Halloween) asked intriguing question… why there aren’t more females characters represented at thisIMG_8766 time of year?  Yes we have witches, but that’s not the same as the person of Dracula, or Frankenstein’s monster.  When I glanced around my living room, which I decorated for the season, I noticed the macabre portraits I displayed were of two male writers and a male musician.

So it got me thinking… what female character could I chose that would perfectly reflect the horror of the season? { Here’s a hint — I used one of my authors for inspiration. }

 

carrie full quilt

I chose the most recent “Carrie” movie to base my quilt on.  Of the three movies, I liked the middle one best for its adherence to the plot of the book —- but I love love LOVED Julianne Moore as the crazy mom in the most recent film!!!  Carrie cut out

I’m a fan of all three “Carrie” movies, but I hold a particular affinity for the book.  I think what I truly love about it is the back story.  Steve felt inspired to try his hand  writing a story from the female perspective, but a few pages in discovered he couldn’t sympathize with the main characters.  He tossed the pages in the trash where his wife Tabby later found them.  After reading those pages, she told him “you’ve got something here” and pushed him to keep at it.  He did.  Nine months later he finished his first novel.  After 30 publishers rejected it, Doubleday purchased its rights, and the rest is history.

I enjoy this back story because it marks the humble beginnings of a truly prolific career.  But I also like it because reflects the relationship between a husband and wife — the mutual support and encouragement that we all need.  🙂

 

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Art Quilts, Halloween
3 comments on “Another Challenge
  1. Lisa Duff says:

    also may reflect the closest a male could come to the gestational experience. 9 painful months to produce a creation that takes a LONG time to show its genius and fly…

    love this piece, by the way. between your art and your children, i believe you are the master creator…

  2. Mom says:

    So happy to see your creative side again! Love you.

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

