Spirits of the Dead

My little brother forwarded me a call for artists he thought I’d be interested in.  It is for an art show inspired by Edgar Allanshortened poe two Poe. Good call, Jac!  The show is in Salem, Massachusetts this fall and is a commemoration of the October 7th anniversary of Poe’s death.

shortened poeI framed two of my previous Poes into the required 16×20 size, then got to work on a piece I had been kicking around for a while.

I’ve had a vision of the raven squatting on the bust of Paris ever since 6th grade when the poem was read to us in class.  It’s haunting.  I wanted to embrace the challenge depicting it for this show and this is what I came up with….

raven upon the bust of paris

I thought I’d post this now even though I haven’t gotten into the show yet.  Working full time has definitely eaten into my creative flow, but I have found time to do a little sewing.  Hopefully I’ll find some more time to blog about other pieces I have worked on over the past few months.  PLUS I have a daughter who has expressed interest in a very complicated Halloween costume — so stay tuned! 🙂

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Art Quilts
4 comments on “Spirits of the Dead
  1. Judy says:

    Great! I look so often for a new piece, I know how working eats into your creative time.
    Love Mom

  2. Lisa Duff says:

    this show needs you and your piece, its a perfect match. good luck! by the way, just really took in the gestalt impressionism in your tagline. very fitting and love that you’ve started your own “school” of art

  3. Lisa Duff says:

    well, of course they were!

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

