Everybody’s Quilt Guild

This past Fall I was contacted by a local quilting group (Everybody’s Quilt Guild) to speak at a July meeting about my art quilts.  At the time of the booking, I had returned to school and didn’t yet know where my education would take me.  But I knew that whatever path I ended up on would include sewing, so I gratefully accepted. When I started back to full time work in mid-May I lost some of my drive to work on my art.  The last big piece I had done, The Wage Earner, hadn’t gain much traction out of the blog-o-sphere and I was feeling a bit discouraged.  But in the process of preparing for my talk, I reviewed all the pieces I had done and put them in chronological order.  I have to admit I was astounded at the amount of work I had produced in such a brief period of time.  My first quilted portrait was completed in the Fall of 2012 — that’s not quite 2 years ago.  And despite the part time work, then education schedule, I’ve made 27 quilted portraits, got 12 pieces into shows,  and sold 7 of them!  Not bad.

The show went wonderfully, by the way.  Now I’m not saying it went off without a hitch.  The projector we brought refused to communicate with our computer (which is where mytalking to group power point was stored).  My poor husband rushed to the store, twice.  First to get a replacement cord, then for a replacement projector.  The ladies who ran the meeting were gracious and kept things going until I had all my ducks in a row. The entire time I was surprised at how calm I felt. Terry said it was because I was “talking to my people” 🙂  There must be something to that because in the first 15 seconds I completely discarded my carefully crafted notes.  I had everything written down — I even highlighted the words which led up to the change of slide so my husband would know when to switch frames.  That all fell apart and I had to tap him with my toe (read: give him a slight kick) to get him to switch slides.  It all led to some laughs, which really broke the ice for me.

In order to better explain my process, I created two new picture quilts for the talk.  One quilted, and the other just pieced.  At the end of my talk I demonstrated my process.  It starts with the numbering of my color values….the picking of and labeling corresponding colors …. then the cutting and pasting…. Finally all that work (and a bit of sewing) will result in the final piece…..

A final thank you to the ladies at the Everybody’s Quilt Guild — thanks for listening and being so gracious with your comments and encouragement.  I look forward to working with you in the future. 🙂

IMG_8349IMG_8355

 

jfk 3 fdsdfs

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

finished quilt

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Art Quilts
6 comments on “Everybody’s Quilt Guild
  1. Mom says:

    So happy to see you back.As always, you are great! Mom

  2. Lisa Duff says:

    Bravo- love this piece! And so glad to see you recognize in writing all your work and how much you have accomplished

  3. Lori says:

    Love reading your blogs and so impressed with your art!

  4. […] summer I spoke to the quilters at Everybody’s Quilters Guild.  This summer I am teaching a class to those same ladies.  This post has been written with the […]

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

