Great News Part One

This is a guest post by me, because Mary is just too busy sewing to get to the computer, but we had some incredible news, followed by some even more incredible news.

So we had to let you about the first one so we can give the second one time to settle in. Trust me, as cool as this story is, what will follow is just as impressive.

Mary’s work is in a gallery. They picked up two of her Lincoln pieces and a barn. This one:

Lincoln full size quilted

 

Which is huge (about 2×4 IIRC) and then the smaller one, which is one of my favorite artworks she has produced:
Quilted Lincoln faceI don’t have a picture of the barn piece handy, but I’m sure Mary does. Will get that on later.

This represents a major milestone for Mary, a very big deal. I think the importance can’t be understated. When someone asks her where they can see her work she can give them an address. I would put this up there with getting published as an author. You still have a lot of work ahead of you, but you’ve crested a certain plateau that carries with it a level of respect and accomplishment that is significant. Now it’s not just you (and your fan-boy husband) that say you are an artist, it is a gallery that is using some of their resources and precious space to endorse that status as well.

Mary constantly makes me proud, but the reason I’m writing this now is because she would have waited, and this may have been eclipsed a bit by her other news, and I didn’t want that to happen. This is too important.

The gallery is Artworks on York St right in the center of Gettysburg, PA. You can see why (besides her incredible talent) they’d like her Lincoln pieces.

So, stay tuned for yet another announcement for a juried show she’s in, but for now, if you make it to Gettysburg, stop by Artworks.

Semper Fi,

Terry

 

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Art Quilts, Sewing
6 comments on “Great News Part One
  1. Betty Harris says:

    Wonderful! You go girl!! Oh, yeah…..Happy Thanksgiving! =o)

  2. nsturgill says:

    Congratulations! This is a wonderful step forward. You Lincoln pieces are amazing!

  3. Brian Anderson says:

    Great job Mary!!!

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

