“Nobody Gets Me!”

– Frank Cross, “Scrooged”, 1988

ScroogedI love love LOVE Bill Murray’s “Scrooged”!  I can’t think of it without chuckling, and can’t imagine a Christmas without it.  I remember one year our VHS copy of it got destroyed and I called my little brother, Jac, to see if he could find a new one.  We live out in the middle of nowhere and the three local stores that carried movies didn’t have a copy.  Jac, a north Jersey boy, came through for us.  When our home converted from VHS to DVD, I kept this copy 🙂

This season, when the Carroll Arts Center put out a call for wreaths in the annual Festival of the Wreaths, I almost immediately pictured Frank Cross’s face in the center of one.  The problem was, would people get it?  Terry and I can pass hours quoting this movie to one another – and I imagine we are not alone there – but how many fans does the movie actually have?  And 25 years later, is it still recognizable?  Then Terry reminded me that I was not selling this piece for myself, nor entering a contest.  This was for charity and someone who loves the arts would understand it and purchase it.

So here is my interpretation of Bill Murray in “Scrooged”.  It’s called “Scrooged; Yule Love It!

 

Scrooged - Yule Love It! final quilt

 

 

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Art Quilts
6 comments on ““Nobody Gets Me!”
  1. Mom says:

    Mary
    At first I didn’t recognize Bill Murray, but with the video, you’re right on.
    Love Mom

  2. Betty Harris says:

    Love the piece, Mary. I have never seen the movie but after seeing the trailer I’ll have to see if I can find it, maybe the Red Box.

    • I think you’ll like it. The story line is the Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens and it is one of my favorite re-interpretations. Bill Murray is just brilliant 🙂
      Let me know what you think of the movie.

  3. @stitchingirlmary ~ This is wonderful ~ Well done! ❤

    ☆⁂☆⁎☆❉☆⁂☆⁎☆❉☆⁂☆⁎☆❉☆⁂☆⁎☆❉☆⁂☆
    ☆⁂☆⁎~ℳurray ℭhristmas, ℰveryone!!!~⁎☆❉☆
    ☆⁂☆⁎☆❉☆⁂☆⁎☆❉☆⁂☆⁎☆❉☆⁂☆⁎☆❉☆⁂☆

Leave a comment

Visit My Website
www.TheTellTaleArtist.com
Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other subscribers