All She Does is WIN!

A special thank you to my husband for blogging about the opening of the art show this weekend. I was so overwhelmed by the experience that I don’t know how I could have written about it all. I did just want to add two things. First, all credit for the “Alfred and The Byrds” goes to my man — it was his idea, he encouraged me, and then hounded me to do it. Second, the gorgeous necklace I wore was created by my talented Elizabeth. It definitely helped make me look “artsy” enough to be there 🙂

Secret Blog #2

This Friday was the opening of the Humor Me show at Annmarie Sculpture Garden down near Solomons Island in Southern Maryland. We have been looking forward to going there for months for their Annmarie After Hours event to open the show,

It didn’t start out auspiciously. Because neither of us tend to read instructions very well, we didn’t notice that the invitation said “Adults only” so the boys who made the trip with us would have to stay in the hotel (yeah, they weren’t too broken up). Also, I’m deaf-ish, and I didn’t hear Mary ask me to pack her clothes in the bag I brought. Yeah, it was that kind of setup.

Then, as we got closer, things started to go better. We stopped for dinner at EZ Thai in Prince Frederick and had some ridiculously good Thai food. Then, I got the military discount at the hotel and…

View original post 624 more words

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Art Quilts
2 comments on “All She Does is WIN!
  1. Lisa Duff says:

    this is tremendous- you’re work deserves to be in a Smtihsonian museum! i am so happy that others are appreciating your skill and talent. its not just those who love you who think you and your work are fabulous.

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

