SOHO20 Gallery

Tomountitledrrow at 4pm, I will be at the SOHO20 Gallery in Chelsea, NYC, ready to give a brief talk about my work (*insert nervous sigh here*).  I am so grateful to my wonderful friend Carmen – who accompanied me up north and encouraged me to buy a dress for the occasion (insisted, actually).  And a big thank you to Lisa – who is willing to drive us into the City on what is to be a scorcher of a summer day.  Without you two at my side, I don’t know if I could do it 🙂

Below is a quote from the gallery’s press release, summing up the mission of the show.  If you are in the area, the show runs from July 18-August 10.  Hope you can stop on by!

“Nearly one hundred years after women won the right to vote, and fifty years after the second wave feminist

revolution began, women’s work is undervalued, women’s choices are invalidated, and women’s voices

are unheard.  It is time for women to invest in each other-

to celebrate our accomplishments and affirm our potential.

In addition to creating a space to discuss the pervasive influence of sexism in all

spheres of American life, Women in Charge! seeks to honor women: our work, our role

models, and our lives.  In this exhibition, artists of all genders, across generations, and working

in a variety of media use the language of art to explore the relationship between women and

leadership: a visual representation to women’s ever growing power.”

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Tagged with:
Posted in Art Quilts
2 comments on “SOHO20 Gallery
  1. Lannie Hart says:

    Mary, nice to have spoken to you at the gallery. i can see the journey you are on with your work. Think of a statement you are passionate about and use it in your work. I love your barns too. There are statements you can make about the enviornment, housing, loss of jobs even beauty. Find your inner self and use it with your work. I hope I get to see more of it in the future.

    • Lannie,
      I really enjoyed meeting you as well. Thank you so much for your comment. I have taken it to heart and think I have discovered a voice that I want heard. Would you mind sending me your email or a way to stay on touch? I would love to tell you more about it.
      Mary

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

