Bad News, Good News

So I didn’t get in to the show in St. Augustine.  I can’t say I’m not disappointed, because I am.  I thought my pieces were a good fit – but art is like that.  Very subjective.  I’m even more attached to some of the pieces I have made than others.

That being said, I do have some good news.  I made it into an art show in the City (and here’s a hint, anytime I say “the City”, I mean only one – NYC, baby!)  My piece got accepted at the SOHO20 Gallery, in Chelsea.  The gallery specializes in women artists, and this show is for their 40th anniversary.  It is called “Women in Charge!” and was described as an exhibit dedicated to addressing the expanding role of women in leadership.  When I read the show’s description, I imagined this image.

Michelle the First Lady quiltI know she can be a polarizing figure, but I love Michelle Obama.  And the image of Rosie the Riveter is so iconic.  The combination of the two just came to me – although I bet I am not the only artist who has thought of that 🙂  The saying on the Rosie Poster is “We Can Do It” – so similar to the “Yes We Can” of the Obama campaign of 2008.

The best part about having a piece in The City is visiting it with my very good friends, Carmen and Lisa.  We are going together for the gallery’s meet the artist day.  I just sent a text to Lisa saying I am nervous/numb/excited – all at the same time.  Now that she’s volunteered to drive into The City, I’m a little less nervous.

 

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Art Quilts
6 comments on “Bad News, Good News
  1. dweinberg415 says:

    Good for you for persisting! I love the image. Good luck!

  2. gonerustic says:

    Great quilt – love the exhibition theme too! =D

    • It really was a cool theme. Each year they pick a new topic that reflects the female role or experience. This year was the 40th anniversary of the gallery and it was my honor to show there.

  3. […] summer, Lisa drove Carmen and myself into NYC to attend the opening of the show for my ‘Michelle: The First Lady‘ .  At the beginning of a tour of galleries, while everyone was standing around discussing the […]

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

