Amir

My husband is a political news junkie.  I think he enjoys keeping himself informed, but it is more than that.  While I am very opinionated about politics, I don’t often share those opinions outside of my own home or family.  Terry, on the other hand, enjoys entering into conversations with people of all political beliefs.  It is not the debate that he desires, but rather the social discourse.  He truly enjoys the sharing of ideas and ideals.  This has lead to a surprising turn in his life.  As many of you may already know, Terry was so moved by the plight of the wounded warriors who returned home that he started his own charity, Walking For Those Who Can’t.  

More recently he became aware of the plight of another former Marine, Amir Hekmati, and strove to make others aware through social media.  For those of you who are not familiar with his story, here’s a synopsis.

Amir Hekmati, a former marine and decorated war veteran, was born in Arizona and raised in Michigan. Within weeks of setting foot in Iran for the first time in August 2011 to visit his grandmother, he was arrested, interrogated and imprisoned.  Months later he appeared on Iranian TV, forced to confess he was a CIA operative. The U.S. State Department denies he was spying for the U.S. government and calls the case a gross miscarriage of justice. While Amir languishes in prison, his health deteriorating, and his father dying of cancer, his family pleads with the Iranian government to let him go free.

Source: CNN

Starting on November 17th, a gallery in Detroit, Michigan will be featuring works of art concerning Amir to “raise awareness and gather community support”.  Terry, in true Terry fashion, volunteered a piece from me about two weeks ago when he first heard about this event.  *sigh*  Recently I’ve been working close to full-time hours outside of the home (although this should settle down in the next month or so) and couldn’t think of how I would have the time to tackle such a project.  But somehow the stars aligned, I got two solid days off in a row, and was able to finish this piece this morning.

I used my son Eddie as my model for the body position and worked off a photo of Amir to try to get the facial expression right.  For Amir himself and the prison cell, I worked only in shades of grey and black fabric/thread.  For the color in the piece I decided to have a train of ivy coming in the cell window as ivy is said to represent hope.  I also shaded the sky a brilliant blue which, for me, represents freedom.  I added hash marks for every month Amir has spent in prison and named the piece “Hope”.  If any of you happen to be in the Detroit area this weekend, stop by and say “Hi’ to my piece.  Or better yet, purchase some art and help a worthy cause.  For today, I will close as my husband always does — Semper Fi, Mary

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Posted in Art Quilts
One comment on “Amir
  1. Terry says:

    Reblogged this on ELMFund and commented:
    From my wife, who just did a piece to support Amir Hekmati’s freedom effort.

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

