A White On White Home

Last summer I had a request to do a quilted home for a gentleman whose house was white on white (white siding and white details).  And he wanted it depicted in the wintertime.  He also liked the bright red carriage house behind his home and the garden that surrounds it.  I took pictures of both and persuaded the homeowner to go with the more colorful carriage house.  His wife really liked it (it was an anniversary gift) and I thought I had successfully dodged a bullet.

This summer, the same client phoned to ask if I would consider the original piece he had in mind.  White on white on white.  I did not think I would be up to the challenge.  It has been a busy summer for us – I returned to full-time work and my oldest son started driving – all in all, quite stressful.

I took a shot at it, stitching the siding by hand (in grey thread, to add depth) and working with a total of 5 different shades of white fabric.  The roof has a some great detail work in the shingles and I was able to duplicate that by layering fabric I had cut with patterned edged scissors.  I was pleased with the end result – and so was my client.  Although he did request that I add the snow-blower his wife uses every season to clear the walkway (an inside joke).  I made it separately and stitched it onto the final piece with one stitch, as he said he would like it removable.  My husband calls it my Colorform snow-blower 🙂

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Posted in Art Quilts
3 comments on “A White On White Home
  1. John Hulsey says:

    That is beautiful. You have such an eye for detail here.

  2. Boudicca says:

    It looks almost 3-D! Beautiful work!! ❤

  3. stitchingirlmary says:

    Thank you! I was really worried about finding detail in a white with white on white piece – but this worked out well. Paul, whose house it is, is a true fan 🙂

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

