Farms of Carroll County

As a suburban girl who was transplanted to the country 20 years ago, I am always fascinated by the barns in my county.  I know my north Jersey friends will laugh, but I pass six large barns on the way to the grocery store and I love every minute of the drive (except when I am rushing and then my aggressive Jersey nature takes over!)  I started working on some art quilts of barns last summer but I don’t think I posted them.  The one above is from Keymar.

Over the past few weeks I have been working on the barns in the different seasons of the county.  This one is next to SERRV (where I used to work). 

The one below is of my neighbor’s barn (a much-loved subject).  We took this photo after a snow storm in March of 1999.

Finally, here is a depiction of an abandoned farm along route 482 near Hampstead.  I tried to show the missing barn walls and the general overgrowth that occurs when a property is no longer in use.

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Posted in Art Quilts
3 comments on “Farms of Carroll County
  1. SDJ says:

    I’m just so impressed by the level of detail you incorporate into each of these. Beautiful work.

  2. KMJoyce says:

    I love barns. You did an especially beautiful representation of Trudy Jo’s barn. I was delighted to see it in your collection. How many pieces have you done so far? I bet you can hardly count them. Love, Missy

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

