Toast to Frederick

Tomorrow the Frederick Arts Council has a booth at the Toast To Frederick Wine Festival and I’m displaying some of my stuff there! 🙂  A month or so back I was invited to show at a table with other Arts Council artists, and I of course jumped at the opportunity.

Terry and the kids and I spent a Saturday morning driving around Frederick county, taking pictures of the beautiful wineries in the area. Here are two examples.

The first is the Linganore Winecellars, makers of my good friend Carmen’s favorite red.  This is a beautiful facility located in a gorgeous valley.  They have weddings on site, and after one visit you can see why.

The next is Elk Run.  I have loved these wines ever since moving to the area, but even though this winery is less than 10 miles away, this was our fist visit.   I was intrigued by so many of the buildings on this site, but settled on the quilting the main building for the show.  I included the black and white cat that greeted our arrival and ingratiated himself to our kind boy, Tom.

So if you are in the area this weekend, check out the festival.  It should be a really fun time.  Better yet, make sure to come by on Sunday between 1 & 3 and say hi to me in person!

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Posted in Art Quilts
4 comments on “Toast to Frederick
  1. Terry says:

    Reblogged this on Secret Blog #2 and commented:
    You should all get out to see her. And drink wine. It will be a wonderful time.

  2. Boudicca says:

    The Mahoneys ROCK!! I wish I could be there with you!

  3. Boudicca says:

    PS I’m SO PROUD to have that quilt of my house. Mary, your fingerprints are all over my home! I won’t wipe them away. ;D

  4. Judy Joyce says:

    The quilts are great, you constantly surprise me.

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

