My Wonderful Husband, part 2

I’ve written about my husband Terry many times – his unfailing support of me and my quilting, his walk to raise money for wounded vets, and now his support for U.S. Marine unjustly imprisoned in Iran.  But today I would like to share with you a side of Terry that drives me a bit nuts. 🙂 He has such faith in my abilities that he often springs challenges on me that I would never consider, with deadlines that are beyond daunting. 

Last Wednesday, after an evening spent with the Marine Corps League, he returned home to ask me if I remembered promising to do a quilted recreation the Marine Corps Museum in Quantico, VA.  I did have a vague memory, something about it being for a fundraiser.  “That’s it” he replies,  “Um, … can you do it by Saturday morning?”  I have to give him credit for the pause.  This was an insane request and he knew it. 

The Marine Corps Museum is a wonderful building and a great museum.  The shape alone is inspiring – it mimics that famous photo taken of the Marines raising the flag on Iwo Jima.  The history of the Corps is unfurled beautifully within its walls.  We’ve been there a few times, most notably last July when it was the final destination for Terry’s 90 mile hike through Virginia.  From a quilter’s point of view, however, it is a difficult piece in which to show depth.  The museum itself is grey on grey, with some cement coloring thrown in.    And those sloping windows create their own nightmare. How could I possibly do this the justice it deserved, and in two days no less?!

I told Terry I would be unavailable to do anything else – no cooking, cleaning, or hauling the kids around.  He stifled the “What else is new?” that sprang to his lips and let me go to work. It took all of those two days, and left me zonked out on the couch on Saturday (at which time Terry took the opportunity to take this lovely picture of me), but here is the final result.

Terry told me my piece raised over $300 for the Marine Corps League – so it was well worth all the work and sleepless nights.  Thank you to my husband, who with blind faith challenges my abilities (and sometimes my patience) and pushes me to push myself harder than I ever would.  I love you, babe. 🙂

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Posted in Art Quilts
8 comments on “My Wonderful Husband, part 2
  1. Karen says:

    Holy Sh*t, Mar!! Amazing. Each one gets better and better!!

  2. Julie W says:

    Wow! You did an amazing job! They do just keep getting better and better. Amazing!
    And I am glad to know that I am not the only human that cats like to sleep all over!

  3. Greg says:

    Yes, that is superb!

  4. MaidenAuntie says:

    WOW!!!!! I am not surprised, and I am enthralled by your talents!! What a truly NEAT piece!!!! Terry must have been over the moon when he saw it. And I imagine that the people at Quantico were really impressed. GOOD FOR YOU!!!!

  5. onionmahoney says:

    Blind faith can be annoying, but you’ve never once given me reason to doubt you.

    This one is beautiful. Iron Mike looks ready to jump off the screen. So proud of you.

  6. John Hulsey says:

    I am in awe of your ability to create something so beautiful out of such raw materials. Semper Fi, indeed!

  7. Kathy Dalton says:

    mary,

    what a beautiful job!!! it is amazing. i would like to donate to your cause — don’t know exactly what to make it out to. But please tell me and i will send you a check. I do love your husband’s emails for amir and he is a good doobie. Tell me where to send the check and who to make it out to… (Missy was my best friend in college). Nuff said. I want to contribute!!!! You do beautiful work!!!

    Love,
    Kathy

    • Kathy –
      I have done several pieces for charity auctions (my church, my county’s art council, Terry’s Marine Corps League) but for the most part this is a “for profit” business. I have an online Etsy Store (www.stitchingirlmary.etsy.com) where I have some things for sale. Terry, on the other hand, is raising money for a charity he started called “Walking for Those Who Can’t” — a full scholarship for an injured war vet. Check out his blog: http://www.elmfund.wordpress.com. THAT is a wonderful cause! 🙂 And thanks so much for the words of encouragement!

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

