Summer Months

I always say I don’t do a lot of sewing during the summer time.  Our house is an old one and we tend to rely on open windows and fans for comfort.  The thought of pulling out a bunch of fabric and getting the machine and iron all heated up is not the way I picture staying cool.  Plus the garden and kids need tending to.  And even though the days are longer, there just doesn’t seem to be enough time to squeeze all that we want to do into each one. 

All that being said, I still managed to finish a few pieces and thought I would share them here.  A business friend of my husband’s expressed an interest in my work and commissioned me to recreate his carriage house as an anniversary gift for his wife.  He lives in a lovely little village located in a valley of the Cotoctin Mountain range.  Only 30 miles or so from our house, it was a great drive through the mountains and gave the kids and I a nice destination for the heat of the day. 

I got some wonderful shots of their garden with the carriage house in the background.  The resulting final picture was a little too long for the finished product, so I cut and pasted (literally, I have almost zero computer skills) about 3 inches out of the open lawn to shrink the whole landscape down to the 11X14 size.  I sent him a rough draft of sorts for his approval and for any suggestions.  He advised about the location of the railings (which I moved) and asked me to ‘open’ the umbrella and put out the flag.  With some mad sewing, and a break for a New England vacation, I managed to finish the piece yesterday and my husband delivered it today. 

I also made a replica of a stained glass window for my parents’ 44th anniversary. They are both Third Order Franciscans (this means they have taken vows to dedicate their lives to service through prayer, study, and work; following in the footsteps of St. Francis of Assisi).  I chose a stained glass window from a church in Ireland that depicted the Franciscan Hands in a way I found appealing.  The quilted piece lacks the luminous effect that the stained glass lends, but none-the-less has an appeal in the detailing I like (especially in the archbishop’s red tassels to the left and right of the hands).

By the way, is anyone impressed that I knew the red Christmas tree things on the right and left were tassels representing the rank of the bishop from  the window?  No?  I guess you didn’t spend your childhood summers visiting shrines and other religious places and wouldn’t know such sightings could earn you all the change in my Dad’s pocket (which was usually mostly nickels in my day, now $5’s and $10’s for my kids). 🙂

 

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Posted in Sewing, Vacation
One comment on “Summer Months
  1. MaidenAuntieBoudicca says:

    Impressed? Yes. Surprised? No.

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

