My Wedding Dress

I loved my wedding dress!  Loved it!  The poofy sleeves, the shiny satin, the sweetheart neckline, and all the pearly lace details.  But that was 18 years ago.  I knew that it would not be a dress I could hand down to my daughter as it was SO dated (and by dated, I mean you could take one look at it and peg that it was made in mid-1992!)  So what to do with it?  Leave it stored in my attic for 50 years? 

I must have read this somewhere as it would not have been something I would have thought of on my own, but when my daughter was born I used the fabric from the train portion of my dress to make her Christening gown.  One of the promises I had made on my wedding day was to raise my children in the faith.   What better way so emphasize this than to use that same dress on Elizabeth’s baptism day?

I don’t remember which pattern I used, but it was a simple one (with slightly poofy sleeves!) I trimmed the dress in lace from my own and it was just precious!

The following year my oldest son had his First Communion and I went back to my dress to make him a vest and tie.  Three years later my middle boy walked down the aisle for his First Communion sporting another tie made of silky-1992-satin. 

This year our baby Elizabeth was scheduled to receive her’s and there just wasn’t enough of my dress left to make her a gown.  But I did want to do something with my dress, something she could tressure and pass down.  So I made a little purse that she could carry that day.  I used a simple pattern which I found online.  My wonderful Pfaff sewing machine has all these cool stitches that I used finish it off. 

Inside the purse I placed a very special gift.  For my First Communion my aunt Missy made the lace for my veil.  I saved it thinking I could use it for my daughter’s veil, but after 32 years the lace had aged to an off-white.  So I edged a 6 inch square of off-white fabric with the lace, making her a little hankie for her purse.   She loved it — kept pretending to need to sneeze so she could pull it out!

It was a beautiful day, filled with wonderful memories and tressures to pass down for generations.

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Posted in Sewing
4 comments on “My Wedding Dress
  1. lera says:

    What a great story, Mary! I loved it!

  2. MaidenAuntie BOUDICCA says:

    I just went to the photo of you and Terry in front of the church. You both look so YOUNG!!!! Of course, I, myself, have not aged a bit – no muffin top; no “grandma-skin”; no dancing upper arms; but as for “flabby calves “(as someone, who shall remain nameless and whose belly rests in the person’s lap, forcryingoutloud, once observed), well, I suppose this anomaly is in the eye of the beholder!!

  3. MaidenAuntie BOUDICCA says:

    COPYRIGHT IT!!!! You know what I am talking about!!!!

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

