Quick Scrap Quilts

Making Scrap Quilts to Use It UpIf you are like me, you have lots of fat corner sized pieces of fabric that you are saving for SOME reason.  Well, I have your reason!  I found a wonderful book at my local library called “Making Scrap Quilts To Use It Up!” by Lynne Edwards.  So far I have found two patterns that I am attempting.

The first one is the Squares and Triangles Quilt and it looks so much more complicated than it is.  I spent one evening cutting out the shapes (2.5″ and 4.5″ squares) and the next day watching Medium on Netflix and sewing it all together.   Now all I have to do is add the border and quilt the backing on (probably my least favorite part).  But it did turn out cute and used up a lot of fabric that I couldn’t part with otherwise.

The next quilt I am attempting is the Flowery Applique Quilt, which is a simple nine-block paired with patches of flower appliques.  I spent yesterday cutting out flowers (again from my scraps) and will spend tonight sewing them to a 6.5″ white square.  I’ll probably end up using the same fabric for the nine-block that I used in the flowers to tie them all together.

I am doing all this quilting lately to get ready for my adopted hometown’s Garden Tour coming up in June.  New Windsor’s Heritage Committee is sponsoring a tour of local gardens and homes, and although my home is not on the tour, I have been asked to display some of my handiwork.  If you are in the area June 12th, come check us out!

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Posted in Sewing

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

