My Wonderful Husband

Most of you who follow my blog are aware of my husband’s service in the Marine Corps. But unless you know someone personally who has been in the military, you may not realize the bond this creates among all those who serve.  Terry has been very moved by plight of the combat veterans who served in Iraq and Afghanistan.  He wanted to do something to help those returning injured.  This fall he came up with a wonderful idea to raise money for a scholarship for severely injured veterans.

Starting on November 5th, Terry will be hiking the C&O Canal Towpath.   This 184.5 mile hike, which includes a small portion of the Appalachian Trail,  stretches from Cumberland, MD to Georgetown in Washington, DC. His goal is to finish by the Marine Corps’ Birthday (that’s November 10th, for all you non-Devil Dogs).  Through pledges, Terry hopes to raise money for a mass donation to the for Sentinels of Freedom Scholarship Foundation.

In a press release, Terry explained “The Sentinels of Freedom gives life scholarships to worthy veterans who have shown that they want to excel and succeed despite massive disabling wounds. As a service disabled veteran myself, I know that the Veteran’s Administration can’t provide all of the needed resources for veterans. Sentinels of Freedom is a dynamic organization that helps severely wounded vets transform themselves into successful leaders.”

The hike will also benefit from a donation of $6000 provided by the The Ed Mahoney Scholarship Foundation. This fund was set up after the sudden death of his father in 1994 by Terry and his siblings to support furthering education.

Terry has been hiking almost daily with our good dog, Karlos.  He hikes in the dark of night, after working all day, or early in the morning, well before we all get up.  He has pain in his foot from an injury sustained while in the service, but goes on anyway.  I am very proud of the committment he has shown to this hike.  Please keep him in your thoughts, and do consider making a donation to this very worthy cause.

Oh, and check out his blog!
I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

