Ellicott City’s Historic Homes

I love Ellicott City, MD!  My husband and I first discovered this beautiful, historic village in our wanderings as newlyweds.  Nestled along the Patapsco River among rolling hills, this city has wonderful shops and restaurants.  But that is not why we come back every year.  One look at the historic homes along the main street is all anyone would need to fall in love with this town!

Terry and I went to Midnight Madness in early December for some Christmas shopping and I was once again inspired by these beautiful homes.  I also met some wonderful shop owners who showed some interest in my work and asked me to bring in samples come the new year. 

So here I am, working on some of my favorite images from that lovely town.  This is the Thomas Isaac Log Cabin, which dates back to about the 1780’s (the same decade our own home was built in). In my quilted version, I have yet to finish the tree work, need to add the flag and HAVE to do something with my feeble attempt at a log fire pit on the front right corner.

This is the B&O Museum, situated next to the Potapsco River.  As the child of an avid rail fan, I had to include this shot in my portfolio.  This quilt is also not completed; the rails have to be sewn and I need to secure the ties, plus I would like to “hang” the sign above the entryway and “place” one on the car.  But  I wanted post it now to show those of you who are interested in what I have been working on. 

Before I head back to Ellicott City with these new pieces under my arm, I am going to attempt at least one more quilt.  I’m not sure if it will be the Old Firehouse Museum (on the left) or just a simple doorway.  I find the doorways of old homes particularly interesting, although their simplicity sometimes makes them a bit more difficult to portray.  We’ll see what I’m up to doing this week — if there are no snow days, I’ll probably attempt both!

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Ellicott City’s Historic Homes
  1. Terry says:

    Quite nice! I’m sure they’ll love them.

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

