Two New House Portraits

Well, it has been a few months since I have posted anything new, but you’ll have to forgive me (my part-time job seemed more full-time towards the end, but in a pleasent way!)  Working may have kept me from posting, but not from sewing.  I have two new projects to share with you.  The first is a home that I received a commission for back in the Spring.  My client wanted to feature the home as opposed to the trees out front, so I took the pictures early on before the leaves could come in.  However, my computer conspired against me.  We switched home computers and in the transition I lost the original photos.  Knowing the house was a difficult one (owing to the curving sides and Victorian detailing) I waited anxiously for the leaves to drop so I could complete the project for the Christmas deadline.  It took a massive wind storm in the beginning of December to pull the final leaves off the tree. 

Once the view of the house was clear, I took my pictures and got to work.  The siding on the right side of the home proved challenging as the detail was exquisitely simple and yet too complex for my sewing machine.  I solved it by cutting the heat-bonded fabric with some scalloped edged scissors, then ironing it down in slightly over-lapping layers (like you would do with real siding).  I finished just in time to get it to my client for her Christmas gift.

The other home I worked on was complicated for its simplicity.  It was an all white house with black shutters and roofs.  However, the detail required for the trees, shrubs and flowers made it a lot of fun to portray. 

You will perhaps notice that I used the same fabric for the sky.  With the finished product, the pieces looked so different that I didn’t even notice I had used the same fabric until posting it right now. 

The client wished me to include the sun-catchers in the windows on the front closed-in porch, which was a fun challenge.  The detailing on the porch and in the bushes out front was also fun.  My mom had the same bushes in front of my childhood home, and although I played amongst them many times, for the life of me I can’t remember their name.

I have other projects I worked on during these past few months (including some t-shirt blankets for my kids) that I will share at a later date.  I hope you like these… let me know! 🙂

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Posted in Sewing, Uncategorized
7 comments on “Two New House Portraits
  1. Terry says:

    These are beautiful, just like the artist.

  2. Lera says:

    They look nice, Mary. You know *I* noticed the matching skies when you showed them to me in front of Michaels that day 😉 I think the skies are lovely.

  3. Julie says:

    Mary- Of course, they are both beautiful! I continue to be amazed by your talent!

    Julie

  4. Leonor Pisano says:

    Mary,
    I love your work, congratulations on your work, it gets better with each one.
    I saw your pizza oven, how did it end??? I took a class shortly after moving to Tucson, I also wanted one, so I helped build one in someone’s back yard. It was a ton of fun! I still have not build my own, 😦
    Leonor

  5. Mom says:

    I check your website often, but I am aware of how hard you have been working before Christmas and so didn’t expect you would be able to work on your projects. I love your work, and am so very proud of what you are creating!

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

