Quilted Homes

Here is a sampling of quilts I have made over this past year.  The featured photo is our house with my neighbor’s home in the background, one of the first I ever made.  This one to the left is from a photo of the wall in our kitchen.  Our house dates from the 1770’s and I love to feature it in my work.  The pictures on this wall are scanned fabric copies of photos I took of the actual ones that hang there (hope that makes sense!)

I also made one for my mother-in-law of the house she grew up in.  It was actually built by her father.  The only pictures she had of it were black and white, so I worked from her memories to get the colors right.  It was built out of redwood and her room was the converted garage on the left.

I am in the process of making a series of quilts of the doors of New Windsor, my adoptive hometown.  Founded in 1797, there is a lot of history here.  The main road in our town is one of the many ‘Roads to Gettysburg’;  both the Union and Confederate troops passed through.  The homes I have featured here were sitting at the side of the road there when the boots of those men trudged through our town.  I don’t know, just think that’s neat!

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Posted in Sewing

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

