New Job

I have been fairly remiss with my postings because of a new part-time job I started about 2 weeks ago.  It is at a store which is walking distance from my home.  The place is called SERRV and is such a wonderful organization.  To quote the mission statement:  “SERRV is a nonprofit organization with a mission to eradicate poverty wherever it resides by providing opportunity and support to artisans and farmers worldwide”.  SERRV is a founding member of the World Fair Trade Organization and of the Fair Trade Federation. 
Learn more about our work with Artisans and Farmers.
The shop sells the handiwork of artisans and farmers from countries all over the world.  SERRV has a website and stores that sell their goods around the country, but only two storefronts; one in Madison, WI and the other here in New Windsor, MD.  Right in the middle of cow country.  I just can’t get over that!

My favorite pieces are the ones that are obviously made from recycled products.  For instance, they have these necklaces, bracelets and bowls made in Vietnam that are folded pieces of newspaper and magazines glued tightly together.  Beautiful craftsmanship!  I also love the magnets created from recycled cans and coiled wires made by artisans from Mombasa, Kenya.  Definitely check out their website. 

www.serrv.org

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Posted in Not Sewing
2 comments on “New Job
  1. Lera says:

    I bought those necklaces last year at their big sale! (Hey, when is their sale this year? Has it already started?)

    • Started yesterday and runs through the 11th — Mon-Sat. 9:30-5, Sun 1-5. 75%off overstock. I got some really cool gifts for Christmas already. Hard sometimes to think that far in advance, but the stuff is truly unique and such a good cause… I couldn’t help myself!
      I work Tues and Wed, if you are planning a visit.

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

