My Garden(s)

I don’t understand why I don’t classify myself as a gardener — I think when you tend four separate gardens on your land, you have to accept that moniker.  I guess it may be because I have met some outstanding gardeners in my life; my neighbor and mother-in-law, to name a few.  They can tell you the name of every plant in their garden (and yours), know when to plant what, and when to cut them back.  Every year I am surprised at what comes up where.  And except for hostas, morning glories, and sunflowers, I have to pause before I name my flowers (and I’m usually wrong).

But then I think what matters most about flowers is how they make you feel.  I love seeing my sunflowers peeking over a fence.  And although my morning glories get to be a menace by mid-July, I can’t bring myself to cut them all back.  The miracle of plants never ceases to amaze me. 

I remember digging our first garden with Eddie and the joy he took in poking each seed into the dirt, then tending to it with water and weeding.  When the first sprouts appeared he was amazed.  We watched with much anticipation as the blossoms bloomed, then seemed to morph into vegetables.  Those first years we stuck to corn, strawberries, lettuce, tomatoes and cucumbers.  Tom was fascinated as a little guy when, while eating corn-on-the-cob, he noticed how each kernel looked “just like the seed we planted!”

In later years we branched out to beans, kale, heirloom tomatoes, hundreds of different kinds of squashes, peppers, and even potatoes.  I’ve read dozens of gardening books, but seem to learn best by trial and error.  One year I let the kids plant the seeds in starter kits and when I went to transplant them,  discovered they had been mislabled.  That was fun!  It was also the year I mistook a pumpkin for a watermelon and chopped it off the vine for some 4th of July eating.  My neighbor has never let me forget that!

I do have to say for a girl from North Jersey, who never knew pumpkins were green before they turned orange, I do okay. 

I have always loved the process of transforming pieces of fabric into quilts. For years I collected scraps, just to be sure I'd have the right piece for the project at hand. Eventually, as my skills progressed, my hobby grew into art. I moved from simple quits, to 'landscape quilting' and then eventually onto portrait work. I am new to the art field and am self-taught, learning from my mistakes as well as from my successes. I create my images using only fabric and thread. I remain true to this limitation for two reasons; first, I love the challenge of finding new ways to depict ever more challenging subjects. Second, fabric work remains my true love. I enjoy the hunt for fabrics; where other artists might blend oil paints, I love finding that perfect shade or pattern for a specific need. I refer to my style as "gestalt impressionism" for one needs to take a step back from my pieces to get the whole picture. My view point changes by what is influencing me at the time. Recently I've begun to focus on the journey of the individual. I enjoy working on portraits of people whom I feel have lead interesting lives.

Posted in Gardening, Not Sewing
One comment on “My Garden(s)
  1. Lera says:

    LOVE the pumpkin-watermelon story!! You ARE a gardener. If not, what the heck am I?? You are GREAT with your plants. I have no green thumb. I am a million levels below you.

Leave a Reply

Archives
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other followers

